Baby birches!

This is by way of being a) an explanation of why I’ve been a bit quiet, and b) a sort-of substitute for my monthly tree-following post, which is clearly not going to happen this month.

A) is simply that I’ve been busy editing a 100,000-word book full of figures and typos and a language other than English (which makes using a spell-checker difficult, presumably the reason why the author didn’t bother). Plus there’s been root canal. Eek. However, am now eating solid food and coming to the end of the editing marathon.

Despite all that, I’ve been managing an hour’s weeding a day – just as well, or the garden would invade the house in the manner of the tropical wilderness generated when Moomintroll put some plants in the Hobgoblin’s hat (sorry). And I realised I’d had a surprising success when I went round the back of the greenhouse:

babies!

and this is B), my substitute for this month’s view of my hawthorn. These are three seedlings from the downy birch I ‘followed’ last year. I only took the seeds in October!

They are very healthy little baby birches, and I am soooooo pleased. I did sow a whole seed tray, and only got three decent plants which I potted on – but I didn’t really expect them to survive. Obviously they’ll be potted on again next spring, but this rather raises the question of where on earth I’m going to put them… but who cares?

Right, back to my books…

 

12 thoughts on “Baby birches!

    1. kate Post author

      I honestly didn’t expect any to germinate. I shoved them in the fridge for about a week, then planted them out and they overwintered in the greenhouse… couldn’t believe it when I saw the first signs of life. I’ve got a big birch, but by the time these babies are larger it will probably need to come down – I shall plant a grove!

      Reply
        1. kate Post author

          Ho ho – maybe if I’d known that, it wouldn’t have worked!

          (I do hope they don’t turn into malingerers or suicides now they’ve got going, mind.)

    1. kate Post author

      Hooray, someone else got the Moonintroll ref!

      (Next thing you know, we’ll be running around with teeth made from orange peel and hiding in caves from comets…)

      Reply
  1. wellywoman

    Wow! Editing 100,ooo words and root canal that sounds like a fun way to spend summer. 😉 Love the baby birches. Yes, it’s surprising how we take for granted something as simple as being able to eat. I had wisdom tooth problems earlier in the year. I soon grew sick of soup and houmous. Obviously not together… that would have been weird.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Hmmm. And now the Giant Edit is back with the publishers, the weather is changing. By the minute, it sometimes seems. Oh well. Houmous soup… no. Just NO.

      Reply

Leave a reply

