Evening sun in the garden

We’ve had a lovely few days, doubtless caused by me having a friend to stay – well, she assured me that it was down to her, and I’m going with that. It’s been gorgeous; my water butts are empty but nothing’s fallen over yet: that perfect point, when a spot of rain would do the trick and I’m not worrying about the cost of using metered mains water – yet. Plus I’ve washed everything in sight, up to and including half a ton of wool, and almost everything that has to be planted has been planted. The broad beans are ready for harvesting, but it’s not reached the insane stage there either. Perfection, really.

I turned round after I’d put the tools away last night (left them scattered all over when work and a garden club committee meeting interrupted) and realised that I can just enjoy the garden…

path

the evening light,

fern

which always seems to emphasise certain colours, making deep ones even more saturated,

light

working its magic on colour combinations.

wowser

I’m almost used to this valerian/geranium combo, as it’s just outside the front door, but I’d not spotted the euphorbia being quite so striking against the Acer, even though it was no longer in the direct sun – down to light direction and intensity, I guess:

contrast

Yes, I know the fennel is a bit feeble. I abuse it on a regular basis but it doesn’t seem to make much difference.

And the osteospermums – which will need thinning this year if they’re not going to take over – were still open at 9pm. OK, the sun leaves that bed last, but still. Amazing. Midsummer. Almost.

osteo

Sometimes I need reminding that I need to enjoy the garden as well as weed it, coddle it, shout at it, dig holes in it and chase Next Door’s Cat around it. And now I must dig some spuds. Oh well…

16 thoughts on “Evening sun in the garden

    1. kate Post author

      Isn’t it lovely? So many people assume the height of the day is best – and to be fair many do take good shots then – but I think it’s a bit harsh and unsubtle. Unless, of course, it’s a ‘normal’ summer here – i.e., rainy, with some extra drizzle. No, that’s not fair: I think I was deeply scarred by 2012.

      Reply
        1. kate Post author

          I’m sure you’re right, it’s such a shame. They’re not all bad – and (keeping my fingers crossed) this year looks like being a good one. I’d quite like a bit of rain, preferably after dark, to fill up my water butts, but I’m not complaining!

  1. Pauline

    Such a lovely light to photograph the garden in, I usually take mine early morning, less midges then! I’m never happy with photographs when they are taken in bright sunshine, colours bleach out and don’t look the same at all.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Happily we don’t have a midge problem, which I think is probably down to the see breeze which I’m inclined to curse at other times of the year. But you’ve inspired me to get out with the camera and see how the light changes in the morning – watch this space!

      Reply
  2. Julia

    Great photos (as usual) and the weather’s still glorious so perhaps I didn’t have any influence. Now I’ve been on a garden visit, I can visualise where everything is.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      The weather is still glorious, but I am sure it is down to you – you left beneficent echoes (either that or the weather is just scared of you). Feel free to visit any time!

      Reply
  3. wellywoman

    I feel exactly the same. I’m so busy with work at the moment that jobs I should find relaxing and a pleasure have become just another thing on the long list of jobs to do. I don’t suppose it helps that the line between work and gardening has become somewhat blurred now. And the worst hay fever in years has made gardening a bit of a misery for the last few weeks. I’m determined though to enjoy a glass of wine in the garden this weekend to celebrate mid-summer. A combination of exhaustion, antihistamines and alcohol and I’ll probably be snoring in my deckchair!! 😉 Have a lovely weekend.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I’m glad I’m not just the only one who gets bogged down – I’ve decided that from now on, even if it’s only for ten minutes, I am going to wander around the garden and just notice stuff. And not weeds or things like that, not even whether or not a plant would be better suited somewhere else, but stuff like the way the petals form or the colour changes in a single bloom. Whether I will manage to keep to this is another matter.

      You’re another person who’s reporting having the worst hay fever / asthsma in ages this year. I have never, ever, had to go back to the docs for a second puffer in one month before. What is going on???

      Reply
      1. wellywoman

        Mild winter and spring, perhaps? The grass was flowering much earlier than usual, in mid-May. I normally feel worst around Wimbledon time but I’ve had 4 weeks of feeling rubbish already. Went to the beach last Saturday and I felt normal again. The sneezing stopped, my foggy head cleared and my throat felt better. It was bliss. I’ve told hubby we need to live in a beach hut!! lets hope we all feel better soon.

        Reply
        1. kate Post author

          Possibly, it’s very marked this year. You have all my sympathies; when I was a kid the grass used to floor me – dreadful. But now the worst time for me is the early spring (tree pollen) and it’s asthma. This year the end of March / early April were hell, and my birch trees did not help. You definitely need a beach hut, but then I live by the sea…

Leave a reply

