Wordless(ish) Wednesday

WordPress are messing with the image formatting at the moment, so I’ll just hold on a post with more text and celebrate the arrival of spring (yippee!)

First, the chionodoxas are just going over a bit:

chionodoxas

Really they are. They were better; they seem to have been enjoying the fact that the rowan was lost in the winter storms.

But that doesn’t matter because the fritillaries are starting:

frits 1

Now all I have to do is ensure that the Mad Dog of Dyffryn – actually Harlech, but couldn’t think of suitable alliteration other than the Horrible Hound of Harlech, and she isn’t horrible, she’s just young – doesn’t eat these too (ten daffodils met their end the day before yesterday). Or bounce on them. Or try and water them:

woof

Hmm. Am rethinking my advice to P that he should get another dog.

23 thoughts on “Wordless(ish) Wednesday

  1. Christina

    You made me smile, htat must be a good thing an a grey March day. I’ve never lived anywhere that I could grow fritillaries and they are so, so beautiful; keep filling your posts with them!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I’ve never managed them before but for some reason they’re quite easy here. There were a couple that came up my first spring and I though ‘aha!’ and planted loads. Mice got some initially, but they keep materialising so I guess they recover. Someone at the show had managed to get them to open in time – they came first (I think) in the ‘any other plant’ group. Quite overshadowed my pansies…

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Gosh, no, no pheasants – just overgrown sheepdog puppies. Are they fond of fritillaries?

      (If dogs are, they’re DEAD. Just saying.)

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    Oh hurrah – it’s not just me! I am afraid I have an overly huge image today for that reason. Must look into it but if anyone can tell us more please do! That sea of chionodoxas is amazing – how many did you start with? And didn’t you use to count your daffodils – or is just the dog-eared ones you are going to count now?

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      There’s a real row going on in the support forums – don’t expect they’ll listen, but you never know. For the time being you can resize images by dragging the little boxes at the side when you’re in the visual text box (er, not sure if that’s what it’s really called but it’s where you write your post). It was only working with full size or large images, but you can get them quite small. It is, apparently, a work in progress. HUMPF.

      Right, more elevated subjects… on the chionodoxas, there were a few when I moved in, but my non-mowing meadow policy has really allowed them to spread – they’re moving up the slope now. And yes I do still count daffs, even the ones Madam has mangled. She doesn’t actually swallow them, just rips them apart. Dog kebabs sound appealing. Dog rissole. Sheepdog sandwich.

      Reply
      1. Cathy

        Or as the Golfer calls them, dognuts….! Thanks for the lowdown on WordPress – I have resized my picture to something a little less alarming. Any idea how I can get a ‘tooltip’ for my images again?

        Reply
    1. kate Post author

      They have been something else this year – the rowan only came down in January, so I’m not 100% sure that’s what made the difference. Maybe it’s just a good year for chionodoxas!

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      For the moment… fortunately Madam seems uninterested in small things…
      (If only I could persuade her to go after snails and slugs with the same efficiency.)

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Aren’t they? I just cannot shut up, evidently…

      I do love the chionodoxas; it’s such a pity they don’t hang around for longer. Oh well, there’s always next spring!

      Reply
  3. Janet/Plantaliscious

    Hah, I was rejoicing at the sight of three – yes, count them, three – chionodoxa flowers yesterday, and now I see yours. Thanks ever so 😉 Love your fritillaries too, no sign of the ones I planted, may have to try “in the green” instead.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Mice love fritillary bulbs… just saying. Mine are finally beginning to clump up, what, seven years after I decided to add to the ones I’d already got. And then P’s damn dog knocked three of the heads off running about like a mad thing. Dog ripple ice cream.

      Reply
  4. Lucy Corrander

    You may be feeling Photo-challenged but there’s a lovely liveliness in the post – a sense of ‘things happening’.

    I’m sorry I wasn’t able to comment on your Tree Following post. I was finding it difficult to access posts and pages and comments on several blogs and eventually solved it by clearing the cookies on my laptop. By then, though, I’d got thoroughly confused about where I’d been and not been.

    I’m updating the Loose and Leafy Tree Following Page to include an indication of where our trees are. I’ve put Gwynedd, Wales for you. Is that right?

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      That’s no problem – can’t quite believe the next post is coming up, and there’ve been so many changes. Yes, I’m in Gwynedd, south Gwynedd, between Barmouth and Harlech…

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      NOT REMOTELY SILLY! Yes, I’m shouting!

      I just looked in my old garden notebook and found that I’d started with 3 spontaneous ones, and planted 50. For five years I never had more than a handful and thought the mice had got the bulbs. This year it’s exploded, and I swear they’re coming up in places we didn’t go anywhere near. And, and (I can’t quite believe this), they’re forming clumps. Hang on in there!

      Reply

Leave a reply

