Before the storm – Wordless Wednesday

My first hellebores were lovely. Note the were – but they’ll recover.

hellebore

Gorgeous. Now brown and shrivelled, but hey.

Well, they’re not quite the first; I’ve a huge corsicus which came from my mother’s garden and is still going strong in defiance of the ‘don’t try and move a big hellebore’ rule I was given when I moved house. But the corsicus’s blooms aren’t quite like this. And Dobby, this is one you gave me – thanks!

Hang on, I’m supposed to be wordless. Oh well.

22 thoughts on “Before the storm – Wordless Wednesday

  1. angiesgardendiaries

    I’ve often been given the advice of not to move something – plants don’t always read the rule books do they 😉
    What a beautiful colour it is – I’m sure it will recover, plants are often stronger than we give them credit for.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Indeed they don’t – I moved a whole bed of irises as well, and they had to stay in their pots for 6 months. They were fine too…

      Reply
  2. Dobby

    Glad it has turned out so well. It’s the first year it has flowered I think. All mine have come up too. I moved my wisteria much to everyone’s concern, but it survived!

    Reply
  3. hillwards

    That is – was – very beautiful indeed. My H. corsicus is looking rather unwell this year though, after a lovely and long display last year. I hope it’s just a phase…

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      My corsicus goes up and down – some years it’s fab; others it’s a bit disappointing. This year it’s something of a compromise.

      Reply
  4. Janet/Plantaliscious

    Does the Corsican hellebore tolerate ghastly cold salt-laden winds? If so I am definitely getting one. It is amazing what you can get away with when it comes to moving plants, though I fear I may have pushed it too far with my pulmonarias, they are sulking. That hellebore in the photo is divine.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Hm, don’t really know what to answer to that one – because mine is directly in front of a wall which protects it from the worst of the weather, and is also sheltered by an ash. I do love it, though I think it may be getting a bit tired. Not as reliable as it was. Or as big.

      Pretty hellebore – been out and checked and there seem to be undamaged buds. Phew.

      Reply
  5. Cathy

    Brown and shrivelled? What a shame 😦 although I am sure it will recover. Is this one Metallic Blue Lady, do you think? I don’t suppose it matters which it is as long as it survives. Oh, and I wouldn’t hesitate to move a large hellebore….

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I’m not at all sure, it could be. I will ask Dobby!

      (Just been out again and there’s a promising undamaged bud – should open this weekend, with any luck…)

      Reply
  6. Anna

    Oh Kate – the weather gods were unkind but it will soon shine again. I think that in such circumstances that you are allowed a verbal aside.

    Reply

Leave a reply

