A dragon, caught?

The Phantom Digger is back now the ground is softer.

However, following the recent debate about the nature of the Demon Digger, and some speculation that it may have been a small Welsh dragon, one too young to have developed tell-tale claws, I may – just possibly – have an answer.

Nooooo

Oh, surely not.

This is Splodge (no, not her real name but the name she ought to have, who is otherwise known as NDC – next door’s cat) playing kissy kissy with my white fuchsia. But I did catch her having an vaguely experimental dig – she desisted when she spotted me and did her best too-cute-no-way-I’ve-done-anything pose instead. Despite my certainty that any cat who does that has undoubtedly been up to something (mind you, which cat hasn’t?), I’m not sure Splodge is really big enough.

Am considering webcams and trip wires. Grrrr.

22 thoughts on “A dragon, caught?

  1. Pauline

    Oh dear, I can see you digging a kitty trap! Maybe you will have to stock up on pepper or I’ve heard that plastic snakes can be effective!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      She’s also a menace with wool (has a bit of a wool fetish, in fact) and so is positively infuriating when I’m sorting fleeces… It’s just as well that she’s cute.

      I tried CDs suspended from things for the birds at one point but I swear I caught Madam admiring her reflection…

      Reply
  2. Christina

    I had some holes being dug earlier this spring and was sure it was a fox (it was defiantely a fox last year) but I am pretty sure it is my neighbours cat! So Welsh dragons here, but then perhaps it is an Italian one, they’re in lots of paintings here. Christina

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I was almost certain it was a fox too. Splodge is a very good digger, if it is her – some of the holes were pretty deep….

      Reply
  3. islandthreads

    mysterious, mysterious, I missed the posts about your demon digger, just caught up, surely not a sweet little purdy cat ………….
    after reading Helen’s comment on the earlier posts I think badgers, or rabbits even, they can jump very high, Frances

    Reply
  4. Dobby

    If it was Splodge, wouldn’t she have been doing her business in at least some of the holes? There would be a corresponding ‘hump somewhere surely. I know my girl might have a bit of a scratch in a couple of places before deciding on her final latrine, but the final result is normally fairly obvious. If you see what I mean.

    I’m still with baby dragons. They will be getting bigger now, so careful if you go out at night!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I must admit that I hadn’t thought of looking – and she (or someone very like her) does that on the lawn anyway.

      OK, dragons it is…!

      Reply
  5. Janet/PlantalisciousJ

    Mmm. I am no expert on feline behaviour, but I have watched the three neighborhood cats that clearly think of my garden as their territory digging in the front garden. And I don’t often find evidence of them having filled the hole, if you get my drift. So now you have me wondering whether it is not, in fact, the blackbirds that have been creating craters in the veg beds, but cats. Or possibly dragons… In your case, who knows, I suggest a wireless movement-triggered webcam…

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I do indeed get your drift, how often do you go looking????

      The blackbirds sound like dragons when they’re fossicking around behind the camellias, so you may have a point. Actually perhaps they sound more like elephants, and I don’t think elephants dig… back to the dragon theory then.

      Wireless-triggered machine gun sounds appealing.

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I always thought haggises (is that the correct plural for Sheepsinardsiensis scotius?) had wings, rather like little cupids? Can’t see them using their wings to dig, really….

      Reply
  6. Helen Johnstone

    amhoping it isnt a badger as they have ransacked my garden but it could be a fox. Noticed one out in the daylight in next door’s garden and I wondered if they were struggling to find food given the cold. Maybe you need to have some late night watching from a window?

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      When I lived in London the foxes were always out in daylight – ‘playing’ in the gardens, sauntering down the road in front of you, going through the bins… never seen one here, even as roadkill, but I’m assured they are a pest higher up the hill. I’ve tried late-night monitoring, but all I see are cats, Squaring up for fights (it’s that time of year, I guess)…

      Reply
  7. Cathy

    Was it a full moon Kate? I have my suspicions about what happens to ‘sweet little purdy cats’ when the moon is full – a web cam would definitely capture the moment she transmogrifies into a little Welsh dragon….. 😉

    Reply
  8. artistsgarden

    I don’t believe it was Splodge as Dobby says cats tend to dig holes and then leave a “gift” and a mound – and there was no sign of any gifts in your flower bed
    K

    Reply

Leave a reply

