Happy St David’s Day!

or Dydd Gwyl Dewi Hapus, of course / wrth gwrs:

coy

It’s a useful marker, 1st March.

Not only is it Dewi Sant, it also means that I can judge exactly, year on year, the progress of the weather – as far the daffodils have been affected, at least. A few years ago, for instance, my neighbour asked if she could have a couple of bunches for the church and I was able to give her four large armfuls, without any notable effect on what was left. This year, they’re late. There are going to be loads, but the majority are still only about six inches high and tightly in bud. In flower, as opposed to in bud, I have eight. Just eight.

But they are gorgeous,

that's better

And they smell wonderful…

So get out your leeks, stovepipe hats, harps and baby dragons (I can lend you those, they’re still living under my camellias and making occasional digging forays in the bottom garden), and have a good St David’s Day, wherever you are and whether you have any association with Wales or not.

And greetings from Cardigan Bay:

bay

looking out from just above Harlech, with the Llyn in the background. Thank heavens we’ve had some sun, even if it was yesterday evening and even if today is disappointingly grey… such a relief!

20 thoughts on “Happy St David’s Day!

  1. Pauline

    Happy St. David’s Day to you too! We have just a few daffodils in flower, tete a tete are just opening and N. pseudonarcissus are fully out, must look back and see where we were daffodil wise, last year. I tend to go by the frogspawn, none so far this year but last year I thought it was late when the frogs arrived on Feb 19th!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      There’s no sign of my tete a tete at all, most mysterious (I’m hoping the dragons haven’t eaten them). I start counting daffs when I start picking, and I’m nowhere near that this year. I’ve usually got the first bunch in the house in mid-Feb… can’t believe your frogspawn date from last year!

      (I did see my first big fat bee of the year yesterday, though.)

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      They are, aren’t they? Next comes the great daffodil count – I’ve now got about eight years’ records. My best was over 1500; not at all sure what this year will bring, but it looks promising so far. If late.

      Reply
  2. VP

    Happy Saint David’s Day to you too! I’ve had to resort to daffodils of the indoor variety for today’s celebration. Lots in bud outside, but not a peep of a flower yet, not even from the reliably early ‘Jefire’ :/

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      A few more decided to put in an appearance this afternoon, but still much slower than usual. And it hasn’t been particularly cold here, either. My grandfather would have blamed last year’s weather, and I’m sure he’d have been right. Well, maybe…

      Reply
  3. Cathy

    Eight – that’s eight more than I have! Mind you, mine are mostly tete a tete, so perhaps the dragon effect is apparent here too. Tell me , how did you count your 1500 daffs (or did you count the no on a square foot or something?)?! 🙂 What will you be eating on St David’s Day. I wonder?

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Daff counting is easy – I have a tally sheet in the kitchen and count them as I pick them for the house / gifts or deadhead them. Apparently Christopher Lloyd’s mother made him count as he dead-headed (mind you, he also got paid), and if it’s good enough for my Gardening God, then it’s good enough for me. Mad? Hmmmm….

      Answer: Chocolate. It’s traditional. For me…

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      A few more have opened this afternoon here, but they’re still very slow. I wonder when yours will show their faces?

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thanks – it’s perked up a bit, and it didn’t really rain, so that’s a plus. That view’s pretty good whatever the weather – even mist, mind. Sigh.

      Reply
  4. Dobby

    Happy St David’s Day.
    A neighbour took me into his garden in the dark last night to show me a clump of daffodils that he says have been flowering since Christmas! (He had a powerful head torch to see with). The patch they are on is very sheltered. Unless of course he has dragons to keep them warm!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      There were some daffs in the yard at work that started flowering not long after Christmas, so I guess it’s possible without dragons…

      Reply
  5. wellywoman

    A belated happy St David’s Day. My February Gold have always flowered in the month of their name but not this year. One finally opened yesterday but normally they would have been out for at least a week by now. I’d like some more of that sunshine. What a gorgeous view. 🙂

    Reply
  6. welshhillsagain

    And to you! I have no daffodils out at all yet although lots and lots of snouts and buds. I think I am going to take your example this year and count them. The annual snowdrop count proved that the numbers are still going up, albeit slowly. Looking at the daffodils I seem to have a lot this year. I know how many I planted over about three years because I kept a record of all that labour so it would be good to know that they are establishing and spreading. Mind you if they are not, I might top myself!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I’m very impressed that you know how many went in – I’ve never managed that part of the process. And in view of your last comment, maybe counting them isn’t so good an idea, she added, nervously…

      Reply

Leave a reply

