Wordless Wednesday – attempt the third

It’s crocosmia… oh, damn it!

16 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday – attempt the third

    1. kate Post author

      Some might say I was trying to do the impossible – you know, shutting up!

      (And you’re right, it is lovely. I love seed heads, but I’ve never paid much attention to the crocosmia before…)

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      It’s sooooo hard!

      My main aim with the crocosmia is to stop it taking over the entire garden; this is some I missed. And now I’m going to be having it appearing all over the place (there’s a path just beneath this). Rats.

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      My last flirtation with them turned into a subversive attempt to undermine the whole concept with Wordy Wednesdays – the only problem with that was working out in what way they were different to any other post. Oh well. Next Wednesday!

      Reply
  1. croftgarden

    I’ll vote for Wednesdays with words.
    As for Crocosmia any that dares appear outside a garden on this island will have it’s details taken and hopefully will suffer the consequences. It’s on our Invasive Non-native Species (INNS) survey hit list along with Gunnera and Rhododendron.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Wednesdays with words are certainly easier!

      We’ve got rhodies on our national park list (despite the fact, or maybe because of it, that the hills are covered in R. ponticum), and the dreaded Himalayan Balsam, but crocosmia is fine. Until next year, when my omission will have terrible effects….

      Reply
  2. Janet/Plantaliscious

    Ooops 😉 I love crocosmia seedheads too, but having inherited vast clumps of the wild version I am envisaging fighting a losing battle to contain it in one or three chosen locations for the remainder of my days here!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Good luck… I rip out mounds and mounds of it, corms and all, and it still comes back… I do like it, but you really can have too much. Far too much….

      Reply

Leave a reply

