Farewell my lovely (and my troublesome)…

Well, I’ve got a date for the tree to come down.

Sniffle. They start work on Wednesday. I keep having to remind myself why this is necessary – the wrecked path is evidence of what it would soon be doing to the house – and have even found myself giving its newly naked trunk a hug.

The bark of Western Red Cedars is beautiful:

and I have always enjoyed the almost Mediterranean curves and twists of its branches.

Sigh.

Not only have we cleared the hebe from the base, we’ve also sorted out the log pile and made room for a lot of new additions (I’m always a bit worried about moving long-standing log piles, ever since I excavated a missing hen years ago; she’d been ‘missing’ for a while, but all was well). I’ve even found some rubble sacks to contain the All-Wales Chippings Mountain which will result.

Removing the tree will make an enormous difference to the middle and bottom gardens, and increase light levels in the house. And that’s apart from stopping any structural damage the roots are about to cause. But I am going to miss it, and the sense of protection it gave (eek – past tense, already) the middle garden especially.

Well, protection and deep shade.

I should cheer up. As the tree surgeon said, I’ve got another. I’ll just have to give it a more starring role. At present it only really appears on the fringes of photographs, as I shelter under it when photographing the meadow or the veg patch.

See, up at the top edge? That’s the WRC 2’s lowest branches trying to get into shot. I need to turn round in future.

14 thoughts on “Farewell my lovely (and my troublesome)…

    1. kate Post author

      You’re right. Straight spine, girls (sorry – you conjured up the image of my old sports mistress, what with all this Olympic stuff going on as well)…

      Reply
  1. paulinemulligan

    It will be better eventually, all that extra light and planting opportunities. Time to get the gardening books out and start making lists!

    Reply
  2. Dobby

    Dogs, sorry clogs, hens – what else will you find buried?
    I agree the bark is fantastic, but house, path, slug home etc, it is for the best. (Don’t you just hate it when people say that!)

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Slugs. Lots of slugs. And when you drop a heavy section of tree on a slug, you don’t kill it. Damn. Or drop a picnic table. I’m doing my best in the anti-slug campaign…

      Reply
  3. wellywoman

    I sympathise. We’ve had 2 trees removed here since we moved in. Both were necessary removals and I was so sad to see them go. My advice is not to be around when they’re doing it, I found it really sad to see the trees cut down and the noise is too awful to listen to. And be prepared for the bareness that results. It takes a while for your eyes to adjust to something not being there.

    But you’re doing it for the right reasons and the opportunities that will open up from it going will make up for the loss.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      That’s very sound advice, and happily I’m working away from home. At first I thought about changing the day I was due into my client’s office, and then I thought it would be the best place. I can sniffle in peace. Considered chaining myself to the tree last night, but tripped over the giant root snaking towards the house and reconsidered.

      It’s going to be very strange, but I’m thinking tamarix.

      Reply
  4. hillwards

    I did check hen carefully twice, in case there was another dog/clog mis-read going on, but you definitely said hen.
    Beautiful tree – and bark. But you’re not hacking it down for the sake of it, it’s becoming a menace. And you still have another to enjoy. Hopefully within a day or two of it coming down “ooh so much light! ooh space to plant things!”, once the strangeness becomes the new familiar, it will already be a distant (albeit fond) memory, and there will be no more guilt. 🙂

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      It was a hen. And I mean ‘was’, in every possible sense. Hen/pen? Alas, no…

      You’re right, it IS becoming a menace. It IS becoming a menace… I’m sure I’ll get used to the light quite fast, and the house will appreciate the change as well. Still feel guilty though – but have done a tree assessment to assuage my guilt and worked out I’m still in credit (have planted more than have come down)…

      Reply
  5. VP

    Goodness that is going to make a difference. We got rid of 2 conifers earlier in the year. I still have the All Wiltshire Chiipings Mountain on the patio 😉

    Reply

Leave a reply

