Normal service….

will hopefully be restored fairly soon.

I’m having horrible problems with editing images in WordPress, and I need to sort it out. It’s either that or my head exploding, so please bear with me…

Oh, and if you’re having problems with unstable images – mad zooming – when you’re compiling a post, please let me know. I’m not alone, and it would be helpful to know if any more WP bloggers out there are also struggling, and what workarounds / solutions they have found. Grr.

 

15 thoughts on “Normal service….

  1. Liz

    I host all my photos on photobucket – cuts out a lot of the issues and also means I don’t use up all the space provided by WordPress 😉
    However, it does also require knowledge of coding to insert the images so I can understand that it isn’t an option for everyone.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I went on, posted a query and got one reply which didn’t help – but I’m going to email their support if I still can’t sort it. I’m a member of several Mac groups, and they’re being helpful – but of course they can’t see what I’m doing as I edit. I’ll get there.

      (I refuse to be beaten, grrrrr.)

      Reply
      1. wellywoman

        Did you try seeing if there had been any other similar problems reported on the forums. I had a problem about 5 weeks ago where draft posts weren’t appearing in the edit function and I’d lost most of my toolbar. I hadn’t got a clue what was going on but after a lot of digging I found a suggestion to someone else who’d had similar problems and it worked a treat. All this technology can be incredibly irritating at times, can’t it? Hope you find a solution soon 🙂

        Reply
        1. kate Post author

          You’re being very helpful – thanks!

          There was one thread on the lines of ‘WordPress is being very buggy’ at the moment, with over a hundred queries / comments, mostly problems with images, but they’re allegedly sorted now – except for some of us. Most of those seemed not dissimilar to your vanishing toolbar. I can’t find anyone else who’s complained about my problem exactly on the forums, though, and of course you can’t get through to any of the ‘happiness engineers’ (hah!) directly.

          My prob is in the edit function too – images, once uploaded, aren’t stable; they zoom wildly when you go near them with the mouse. It’s happening on all browsers and on various people’s computers, and it’s even happening on someone else’s blog, but she’d not noticed because she uploads the right size images and had managed a) not to resize in WP, and b) not to mouse over them. Have cleared out images, cache, cookies, everything really… It’s slowing me down appallingly, but I’m going to have to find a way to work round it. Until I move the blogs elsewhere (unless things improve).

        2. wellywoman

          Have you tried setting the blog so it opens using https. That’s what I had to do. It is straight forward to do but I can’t remember how (sorry!) but if you search the forum for changing to https you should be able to find the guide to how to do it. If you can’t find how to let me know and I’ll see if I can track it down.

        3. kate Post author

          I’ve given that a whirl – found it in the basic instructions, thanks a lot. Unfortunately it hasn’t sorted my woopsie out, but I think it’s a very good idea anyway!

  2. patientgardener

    I use wordpress but dont edit my photos in it. I tend to edit them in photopad first but as wellywoman says the forum is fab and if you cant get an answer there I have found the helpguys get back to you fairly quickly

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      MIchelle – we may have a solution coming up! I’m now in contact with one of the Happiness Engineers. Watch this space, and I’ll ket you know (what a fiddle-faddle it is to mess with the images outside WP, when we could just do it easily inside)….

      Reply
    2. kate Post author

      I’m not sure if this will help you, because I don’t know what browser you are using, but I’ve now got a workaround – I’m going to be usiung Fiefox for the meabwhile. Safari (my browser of choice) and Chrome are both WebKit based browsers, and that’s where the problem is. In FF everything behaves. At the moment.

      Right, I’ve a lot of posts to catch up on!! Wa-hey!

      Reply

Leave a reply

