Wildflower Wednesday

My wildflower excursions have been rather constrained this spring / summer (well, I suppose that’s what it is). First, there was work. And when I wasn’t working, it was raining. Boy, was it raining.

So my appreciation of wildflowers was confined to the meadow.

It is doing really well – it doesn’t seem to care about the bizarre weather, or not to any great extent – and every year brings new goodies, or an increase in the old goodies. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for more and more ox-eye daisies, and so far it’s working.

And being confined to the meadow is no real hardship when there are quiet little gems like this spotted heath orchid:

I am, however, taking part in Plantlife’s Wildflower Count, and I managed to pop up the hill and visit my assigned square. Hm. Cows. Lots of cows, and not just any cows but Welsh Blacks. Welsh Blacks who were quite interested in plant surveys, and in whether I was going to kidnap a calf and run away with it. I think I may need another square… Sheep, I like. I know sheep. Cows. Hmm.

But this afternoon I had to go to the shops and I sneaked my camera in my bag. I’d spotted some good things en route, and they had nothing to do with traditional breeds of cattle, thank heavens.

First, I drove down to the estuary.

There was a lot of thrift, some in drifts on boggy grass, some in crevices in the rocks. Beautiful. OK, this isn’t exactly the way to Tesco, but hey; the sun was shining.

And then back on the proper road, and I stopped again within a hundred metres. Flags.

Lots of yellow flags. There aren’t that many fields of them round here, and this one is a beauty. There was one other nearby, but some groundwork had to be done – this area floods badly, or can do – and the other field hasn’t quite recovered yet.

Hopefully it will, because they’re lovely – especially in those swathes of yellow.

I do like flags. I suppose it’s a natural extension of my liking for irises.

I’m going to try growing some in my damp bit, but I don’t think it will work; I’m sure there isn’t enough sun. However, you never know and I do know someone who is getting rid of some, so why not? They deserve a better fate than the compost heap (not that I’m sure that’s where they would end up, mind)…

I turned back to walk to the car, dodging the passing caravans, and spotted these dog roses.

Why couldn’t I ave these as hedging, rather than the Rosa rugosa? Or maybe they’re a bit pretty-pretty for my garden…

And yes, I did make it to the supermarket. It really is worth taking your camera everywhere – especially as it had clouded over when I returned, and is now looking a bit too ominous for my liking. Maybe it won’t rain. Maybe.

14 thoughts on “Wildflower Wednesday

  1. paulinemulligan

    You are so right, many is the time I have regretted not having my camera with me, do have it with me more often now. We have a few of Iris pseudacorus, but thinking about it, it is usually the ones in the sunshine that flower, trouble is , my boggy bits are in the shade!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I keep forgetting; I must make sure it’s second nature and with me automatically…

      Interesting about your Iris – hmm, my boggy bits are shady too. Ah well…

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      That’s my new resolution – ALWAYS!

      (It will be easy to tell – the weight of my bag will be an instant check…)

      Reply
  2. Dobby

    You are meant to be looking at the road, but I have to admit I tend to spend a lot of time looking out the window as I drive around. And yes Kate, it did rain, and it is now coming down persistently on this side of the bay

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      You can’t miss the yellow flags near Ynys – just glance left next time you’re driving this way, and then pull in to the lay-by just before the bridge and walk back – but watch out for camper vans, caravans and mad motorcyclists…

      Reply
  3. thenewstreet

    Brilliantly written as ever – really made me laugh! And I well remember skirting around fields of Welsh Blacks when I was knee high to a grasshopper. Sheep are definitely a safer bet!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thanks – and I’m so glad I’m not the only wimp with bovines! Phew! I was feeling like a bit of big girl’s blouse, but then I remembered that most of the farmers are careful about WBs too….

      Reply
  4. islandthreads

    beautiful wild flowers Kate, I have a purple orchid appear in different parts of my garden when I finally get rid of the tough grass, your orchid is beautiful, I love the photo with the wild flags the open byre really gives it an old country feel, there are flags in the field at the back of my house, I don’t have any but would like some, I was lucky as there were some old over grown roses here when I came and 3 are dogroses, they are not as tough as RR, Frances

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I love those northern Scottish flags – aren’t they gorgeous? I remember last year, when I was in Shetland at about this time, the flags weren’t quite out but were evidently going to be stupendous. Sigh…

      (My heath spotted orchid is currently under a great branch which has just come off one of my ash trees in this stupid, stupid, STUPID, weather!)

      Reply
  5. elizabethm

    These are perfect. I am afraid my own wildflower meadow, having done a storming spring, has settled into a sorrel and meadow buttercup sort of an early summer, with large amounts of overenthusiastic Yorkshire Fog grass. My hopes are pinned on the new annual meadow. I think it might be time for another garden exchange visit, you to me and vice versa!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      (Whispers…. I like Yorkshire Fog….)

      My meadow is currently covered in ash tree. Well, part of ash tree(s). Come down in the wind. Yes, I’d love to revisit, definitely! (Want any wood?*)

      *Given the weather, I think it will be in my wood burner quicker than you can say ‘seasoning, ash doesn’t need seasoning?’

      Reply

Leave a reply

