Primroses, primroses – everywhere

It’s a very good year indeed for primroses –

apart from the fact that a) an awful lot of them have been nibbled, I suspect by whatever has also been having a go at my daffodils – the consensus of opinion, well, of Karen and Elizabeth‘s opinion – is that it’s baby snails – and b) they are completely out of control.

Of course, they are all over the meadow.

That’s fine and dandy, and it’s where they look their best and flourish (in defiance of the ‘primroses need dappled shade to do well’ school). They’re perfect rampaging up there, and they do.

It’s quite clear by now that the development of the meadow has been critical to the increase of the primroses – you can see where the narrow paths mown through the meadow grasses normally run, only now they’re outlined by primroses. I wonder if that’s how all of it would look if I had just carried on mowing? (The paths haven’t yet been mowed, by the way – too many fritillaries sticking their heads up in surprising places.)

So you’d expect primroses in paths next to the meadow:

And gravel is probably predictable, after all. (Don’t look at the weeds on the left – I’m having my annual ‘to what extent am I really an organic gardener?’ debate.)

But in apparently solid paving? And slate? Where are they getting any nourishment?

I guess the key is in the ‘apparently’… they cope just fine. And they come up everywhere else.

In steps? Of course. Every single set of steps in this sloping garden has a primrose decoration, and they hide. I think I’ve got a few clear steps – not that I really want them, mind – and then I notice a little bijou clumpette lurking in a riser.

Of course they’re in all the beds too.

I don’t mind – they are great colour at this time of year, and who doesn’t like a primrose – except when I want to do something radical, like get a bit of fennel to go with my fish (I think the baby snails may have been after the fennel too, and been distracted en route).

Still gorgeous though…

and that’s without going into the amazing and entirely natural range of colours I’ve got, as well. I particularly love the pale salmon pink and primrose yellow combination.

I’ll get round to those in more depth, and I will get round to them because I’ve taken about 5,472,630 photographs so far this week. The weather has been wonderful; I’ve not been working following the first of my hand ops, and I can manage to hold a camera.

Thank heavens for digital photography…

14 thoughts on “Primroses, primroses – everywhere

    1. kate Post author

      Oooo violets! How lovely – I have a few, but I’d love it if they were more lavish… I’m sure the hand will improve (if I can resist the urge to garden, ahem), thanks!

      Reply
  1. patientgardener

    I love primroses and primulas – have quite a collection now but I love the native ones best. In previous years I have had to watch the birds, greenfinches I think, pulling the flowers off the plants for no apparent reason. No sign of it happening this year maybe because of the cat.

    At my old house I had masses of primroses growing in a very open and exposed lawn – they seemed to be quite happy and were spreading so you are right they dont need shade

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Greenfinches – now there’s a pest I hadn’t considered! I wonder if birds could be behind some of the more – er – comprehensive damage? Some of my plants have been chewed right to the base of the flower, all over… hmm. Maybe Karen is right, and I need a cat!

      (Elizabeth, if you’re reading this, I’m not really serious and Henry is happy where he is…)

      Reply
  2. paulinemulligan

    Primroses are such beautiful flowers, the lanes here in Devon are covered in them at the moment, shady sides as well as sunny, such a picture. We have lots in the garden, must move some when they have finished flowering, to the shady side of one of my banks, i think they will look lovely there. They have a happy knack of putting themselves in just the right place, somewhere we would never think of placing them.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Primroses on a bank side – yes!! I’ve been wondering about shifting a few of mine about – I’ve one patch where they don’t really grow, right outside the dining area/kitchen window, where they’d look lovely. Those Devon lanes sound gorgeous; wed didn’t have that many where I grew up (or maybe I didn’t notice them), so they were always a bit of a treat, causing Dad to stop the car and shout out…

      Reply
  3. wellywoman

    They are beautiful and it does seem to have been a good year for them. So your daffodils have been nibbled too. Some of mine have been more than nibbled. Last year I did see a bee which couldn’t get down the trumpet to the nectar eating a hole in the side of the trumpet but I think the main culprits are earwigs. Its very frustrating.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I think you may have got the answer to the nibbling, at least chez moi! I hadn’t thought of earwigs, which is a bit daft because one fell out of a daff I brought into the house… not much I can do about them, though. Knowledge, they say, is power – but not with earwigs, not in a whole meadow.

      Reply
  4. Elizabeth Musgrave (@gwenoldy)

    They are completely beautiful. I absolutely love them and have been finding mine in some unexpected places but there aren’t enough! Your meadow looks fabulous. I have been moving some down to the native tree walk which look as if they will be happy down there. By this I mean I think they should be.
    Hope the hand is feeling ok. If your primrose pictures are evidence of how you have been spending your time it looks like time very well spent!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I’m sure your primroses will do beautifully in the tree walk – and if you fancied adding some of the delicate colours or whites, well – hopefully you’ll be over when they’re still looking good…

      I do think it’s an exceptionally good year for the meadow (but then I think that every year, ho ho). But the weather has been fab – and no rain to bash everything down.

      Reply
  5. Dobby

    And I can tell you all that the meadow is even more spectacular in the flesh. It is an absolute joy. So jealous!
    Hope the new bandage was considerably smaller than the one I saw on Sunday. And here’s hoping for a quick recovery.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I’m glad you saw it looking good!

      (Dressing been ‘taken down’, aka reduced. Just as silly because am now wearing cut-off cotton glove to protect dressing beneath from general grubbiness. Think a sort of gardening Michael Jackson – and I did say ‘sort of’!)

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thanks – I do love the primulas…

      It’s such a bonus to have something lovely that self-seeds – apart from the shepherd’s purse and the swinecress and the pesky-as-hell oxalis and all the other stuff I spend half my life ripping out (yup, the weeds are growing well)…

      Reply

Leave a reply

