Happy Blogiversary, Beangenie…

Oh, well, I’m sure you’re allowed to say happy birthday to yourself – well, happy blogiversary, that is. One year already – amazing.

From snow to – hmm. Mud.

In just one year, blogging has taught and brought me a lot, and I’m so grateful. Primarily, it has made me really look at my garden, and at the plants in it.

I’ve made friends and been in touch with gardeners all over the world, which constantly amazes me; I’ve had tons of really sound advice from tips on dealing with early blight on me spuds before I have to trash the lot to suggestions for plants to go in my new bed. A bed I probably wouldn’t have created without my new perspective…

Because I’ve rediscovered my passion for plants which had been somewhat overwhelmed by growing things to eat.

I’ve also rediscovered my passion for photographing my garden, and that’s why this post is largely photographic – a celebration of the past year in my garden.

Hm – primarily a celebration of last spring.

It’s raining again, I’ve not been well for ages and I need cheering up. And it won’t be long (maybe next week, the rate some things are coming along in this unseasonal mildness) before some of the real joys of the garden appear.

Maybe I’ve got a case of SAD? It wouldn’t be surprising; I’d love some nice, crisp, sunny winter days; get those walking boots on and get out into the hills without needing waders. Full body waders. Wellies will do for the garden.

But spring flowers are always cheerful, and I defy anyone to be glum in the face of spring gorgeousness, like the fritillaries which come up in the meadow.

The season may be haywire, but at least there’s no sign of these quite yet. I think: I haven’t actually looked in the spot where the earliest ones usually appear.

Nor are the tulips showing, but they won’t be long.

And then very soon I’ll be able to take a cup of tea and a book and sit on the bench, looking down the hill towards the dunes and the sea, and relax and enjoy the sun.

Oh hang on, no I won’t be able to. I’ve planted a damson (well, an eirin bach, the local wild plum) near here which will block the view a bit, and the wood of the seat has rotted away in all this wet. Reality intrudes – but I can lay my hands on another chunk of wood, and who knows if the eirin bach will survive? And if it does, I’ll trade part of a view for lots and lots of jam.

Here’s to the next year, and to all the great gardeners and plant lovers who have visited my garden – in both the real and virtual worlds!

24 thoughts on “Happy Blogiversary, Beangenie…

  1. elaine rickett

    A nice positive post – congrats on concluding your first blogging year. It is always nice to look back on the previous year, as a memory jogger, and remember what the garden was like in its full glory.

    Reply
  2. welshhillsagain

    I do so agree about the pleasures of communicating with gardeners from across the world, and non gardeners too. I can’t imagine my life without blogging any more. It would be trying to imagine a life without friends. Sounds as if we respond similarly to dank grey winter. I was reading a lovely blog the other day from someone who loves winter and found it hard to believe! I need some sun.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I’m with you 100% – when it’s grim and gloomy here, ANZ gardens are full of fabulousness. Though that does make me want to get onto a plane. Now.

      Reply
  3. artistsgarden

    Happy Blogiversary Kate – I am so glad that you started blogging and long may it continue 🙂

    Yes the weather is dire
    Yes January is grim
    Yes, it wont be long before spring is upon us and we are rushed off our feet
    Hope you are feeling better soon
    K
    xx

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thanks Karen – the year turns and you can prune fruit trees even if it’s drizzling, so that’s what’s happening. But, but I’ve just found a brown crocus (did I plant that? Don’t think so…) so you can get good surprises even in January.

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thank you too – I never ever anticipated how it would change my view of the garden… I think it’s exposure to everyone else’s lovely, plant-packed gardens: made me realise what I was missing!

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thank you! There are all sorts of unexpected benefits to blogging – and bearing in mind my terrible potato experience and crappy crop of previously reliable beans, perhaps it’s just as well I’ve developed a new perspective!

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thanks – and I hope so too. I think the sun is lounging on a beach somewhere (Queensland coast, probably), and can’t see any reason why it should come and shine on North Wales. I kind of agree…

      Reply
  4. Harriet

    Happy Blogiversary! Is that really a word?
    Thanks for the pics. of flowers in sunshine – this grey grim sunless weather makes it hard for even the most positive of optimists. The sun will come back, won’t it?
    Get better soon.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I think it’s a word if we want it to be one… ho ho… The sun better come back. If it doesn’t, I shall go to Oz and fetch it!

      Reply
  5. wellywoman

    Congratulations on your blogiversary. I too have found blogging has made me look at my garden and plants in a new way. It has been a difficult winter for me with the incessant rain and lack of sunshine but things have dried up here at last a whole 3 days without any rain!!! So I’m going to get out and do some work I know it’ll make me feel better. Really enjoy reading your posts and I look forward to more in 2012

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thank you – isn’t it interesting how blogging affects our gardens? Most surprising – for me at least.
      Boy, do I know what you mean about the weather – the sun shone briefly yesterday, so I leapt out in it. Didn’t get very far before it all closed in again, though. Grumble.

      Reply
  6. hillwards

    Happy blogiversary. It is a lovely little community in the blogscape. I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts, and look forward to more as the year unfolds. I am getting very excited about all the little nibs of green shoots pushing up where I planted my hundreds of various spring bulbs around the new and improved garden… Here’s to spring – and no sudden wintry freeze!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thank you – isn’t it a lovely community? Just goes to show that gardeners are a great group of people, and troll-free (I do hope I’m not tempting fate!).

      I fear that we may get the freeze at the end of the week, which will come as a horrible surprise to all the birds which are singing away madly in my garden – it’s not just the bulbs that think it’s spring… but here’s to spring anyway!

      Reply
  7. Dobby

    Hi Kate. Happy blogiversary from me too. Although I don’t blog, I have been privileged to meet some inspirational women (including yourself) through other peoples blogs. Keep up the good work and I’m sure the rain will go away at some point soon (at least I sincerely hope so!)

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      That just proves my point, because you’re one of the lovely people I wouldn’t have met without the blog, too…

      Rain not going away just yet. ARGHHHHH.

      Reply
  8. islandthreads

    Kate belated happy blogaversary, we have just had a couple of dry days I hope you have too, hope you are feeling better soon, Frances

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Dry? We’ve had glorious and sunny!! Got seriously overexcited (but not so overexcited that I began the Big Sowing). And sun is very good for the health… cheers you up, anyway!

      Reply

Leave a reply

