Water!

It’s thrilling – my water butts are full again, the soil is dark brown and staying in one place instead of pale brown and blowing everywhere, and every single thing in the garden has zoomed into growth. Unfortunately this inevitably includes weeds, bracken and brambles, but hey ho.

(I won’t be so sanguine about the weather later, when I need wellies to go and pick beans.)

And the rowan is shedding so much blossom, what with the rain and the wind, that it almost looks as though it’s been snowing in some corners of the garden.

However, I could not resist popping out with my camera during a lull for the obligatory wet Alchemilla mollis shot.

Years ago, I saw this growing among stone flags at, I think, Sutton Park and wanted some Alchemilla and a beautiful stone path myself. At the time it seemed impossible, a dream. I should have thought it through more: ‘be careful what you wish for’. And now I spend a large part of my time clawing small seedlings out of the paving. Hmm.

My irises are fabulous with the rain on, especially as I remembered to stake them before the weather broke this year. I’m saving them for a separate post, (oh, all right; they’re not quite out yet) but I had to include this one:

The Acer in the bottom garden was beautiful. I don’t think I’d realised how well the water droplets would collect on its leaves:

I have a problem with this Acer. I thought it was only a matter of time before it popped its clogs, sloughed off this mortal coil and went to join the choir invisible. It even looked dead. You know: brown leaves, brown stems, that sort of thing. It obviously wasn’t dead, though, and now I’ve planted a crinodendron too close to what is evidently a happy plant tree. Which one should I move, I wonder?

I also need to bear in mind the ginkgo, which is in the same area.

I love the ginkgo, which is a liberated bonsai. A good gardening friend of mine was given a couple of bonsai, which she loathed. So she smiled, said ‘thank you very much’ and potted them up. They were soon too big for her garden and she passed one of them on to me. When the time came for me to move it was so tall that it wouldn’t fit in the van, so we had to do a little emergency pruning on the street. That was in 2002, and my friend died three years later, so it’s good to have her ginkgo looking so very well.

As I said, it’s not just the garden plants that have been revived. The ants are everywhere, and if you look closely you can see them on  this paeony. I’m boiling kettles: it may be savage, but it is organic.

And something tells me I’m going to be out with the hoe a lot more too. The onion patch was comparatively clear. OK, it was dry, but it was relatively weed-free. Now it is a heaving mass of small weeds – you name it, I’ve got it – and surprisingly large volunteer potatoes that I swear weren’t there yesterday.

Yuk.

It always, but always, seems that however well and often you dig over a spud patch, there will always be at least 85,000 tiny potatoes waiting for you to plant something on top of them that doesn’t like root disturbance, at which point they will all sprout like mad. Oh, good.

13 thoughts on “Water!

  1. Janet/Plantaliscious

    Well, can’t say my water butts are full, but the weeds are certainly growing fast, and my plants look a lot happier! Look forward to the iris post, the one you gave a sneak preview of looks lovely. I have similar Rowan confetti. Your Alchemilla wish fulfilment made me smile…

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I cannot believe how quickly stuff is growing now we’ve had rain – and that includes the baby tomato plants that have sprung up where I composted the veg beds…

      (I quite like the Rowan confetti!)

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Isn’t it?? Mind you, personally I expect it will wear off – sometime about August I’ll realise there’s been no summer, like last year…

      Reply
  2. Harriet

    Love the iris and look forward to seeing more. And I so sympathise about the wretched potatoes that are never there when clearing. I’ve got exactly the same in the onions!
    Hope to do my first Wordy Wednesday post tomorrow. Is this the start of a trend maybe?

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      My big white iris still hasn’t done it’s thing; have told it ‘I’m waiting’, but no response.
      I think I made a fundamental mistake with spuds last year in planting some that were dark purple and looked like stones. But I’m sure there’d be the same problem whatever… grrr.

      Reply
  3. Joan

    We have plum blossom confetti, and fortunately it’s been raining here in Stavanger as well. On Sunday it was very dry and very windy, and the topsoil was blowing off the fields in dust devils.
    I love gingkos too, and the contrast with purple acer leaves is marvellous

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Plum blossom is more beautiful, I think… I’m reaching the stage when a predictably dry day would be useful. How quickly things change!

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thanks – but I think I’m getting bored with the rain now (some people are never satisfied, I guess)… I don’t think the ants do any harm, either, but they are everywhere

      Reply
  4. Anna

    What a beautiful iris but I think the star is that little fern coming out of the wall. The rainy weather has been most, most welcome.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      The ferns have really loved it… I thought they were managing OK, and they were – but they are really flourishing now. Must do a fern post!

      Reply
  5. kate Post author

    Ah yes, sorry about that. I can get quite nasty in defence of my crops (I spent many years as a veggie; perhaps my bloodthirstiness with ants is some sort of overcompensation…)

    Reply

Leave a reply

