End of the month view – March 2011

Well, the end of the month dawned wet and blustery, plus I had to be at a client’s (end of the financial year, argh). I managed to take a couple of shots at lunchtime…

and most were just plain depressing. My daffodil-cuddling activities have been temporarily suspended due to work and the call of the taxman – hiss, boo – and they have suffered in the weather. I’m also just about to start dead-heading, as the first ones to flower are now going over.

But the subdued light today suited some of the tulips, which are just about to break.

These were in a pot a few years ago, and I shoved them in the ground even though I expected very little of them. They have flowered magnificently ever since, just to show me who knows best, plants or gardening books. Plants, every time.

Anticipating deteriorating weather, plus the call of HMRC, I took some photographs on the 29th to record some natural changes, and some changes I would like to make.

One of the latter changes is the old pigsty. It looks quite picturesque in the sun, with the magnolia resting artistically on its slate roof. It is, however, one of my urgent projects – it needs a really good clear out plus the removal of the biggest ants’ nest in Wales, possibly the world. The nest is in the most inaccessible place, and every year I think I’ve got it, but every year I am proven wrong. Somewhere in here are my windowsill boxes, which I usually use for my salad leaves. I couldn’t face getting them out last year, but this year I shall show no fear.

There are a lot of changes in the garden. I don’t know why this should surprise me, given that my garden is particularly good in spring, but every year the pace of growth blows me away.  The Solomon’s Seal is just coming up – I do get sawfly, but they usually take some time to find my patch – and the Forsythia above it is now all bright yellow flowers instead of  brown branches. The nearby paeonies – old-fashioned, single-flowered P. officinalis – are also zooming upwards.

There are more and more flowers in the meadow, and this year the anemones have finally begun to spread markedly:

The same is true of other flowers, especially the primroses. It’s such a shame when they fade, but they are a wonderful vindication of my meadow policy. You can see quite clearly where the windbreak usually goes around the veg patch: inside, the grass is mowed, and there are few primroses even though we haven’t started mowing yet; outside, no mowing until the Great September Strim – and it’s almost covered.

Even though the classic yellow primroses are increasing much more than those in pink and crimson, there are still some of the other colours, and some clumps that are mixed. Some are even almost terracotta. Gorgeous…

I’ve seen some oxlips coming up, but the cowslips are always later. I’ve got some weird hybrids among them – for the past few years, there’s been one scarlet flower. I must remember to keep an eye out for it!

14 thoughts on “End of the month view – March 2011

  1. Mo

    You have some lovely colour in your garden 🙂
    I had to pick my daffs yesterday because the wind was battering them – you can tell we only have a few 🙂

    Reply
  2. ronniejt28

    I love these End of Month View posts it give such an inside into other peoples gardens and the difference it makes to where you are in the Country. All my daffs are over but I have some narcissi coming out – I am sure that is the other way round to last year but there you go, thats Nature for you!

    Reply
  3. Hanni

    You do have a very beautiful garden…I will have to look closer at your blog to see if you have a “garden tour.” And you have solved a mystery for me! I was given a tiny slip of a plant last spring…it is close to blooming now, and proves to be an anemone.

    Reply
  4. patientgardener

    thanks for joining in. I buy new tulip bulbs for pots each year and then plant them out in the borders the next year and I find they do really well despite many people saying that they dont!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thanks – and I hope yours are just as good (spring is such a relief, I think I could be blown away by the flowering of a single daisy)…

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thanks – I’m afraid mine grow (and spread) like weeds… I’ve never found them difficult or shy, but then I’ve not tried to grow them anywhere they didn’t crop up naturally… they are really, really lovely.

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Thank you – it’s quite difficult to think of it in those terms at the moment, though, as it’s pouring down and everything is being blown flat by a gale… sigh…

      Reply

Leave a reply

