What goes where…

Things are catching up with me.

My broad beans, which were so cute only a couple of weeks ago:

have now turned into thugs, desperate to go in. I’ve been trying to harden them off, but that’s been delayed by the cold snap. All I really need, apart from a change in the weather, is to know where I’m going to put them. I know theoretically, but will it work in reality?

I have to work out exactly what goes where in the veg patches, bearing in mind wind conditions (more shelter for the mangetout than last year) and crop rotation (spuds in the bottom garden, then). And I always, always, put this off.

And every single year I sit down with last year’s plan, work away for about an hour and then realise that plan and reality were actually rather different. I end up going through photos, especially since the Great Overflowing Spud Crisis of a couple of years ago when I ended up with rather more than I had planned for. Plus, some things are still in – the cavolo nero, the Russian kale, leeks – and some  are still to come on stream, like the purple sprouting broccoli. It’s nearly there, though.

I’ve also still got a load of parsley flourishing which I’d assumed would die over the winter, and some cabbages. Mind you, they seem to have gone straight from seedlings to running to seed, so they can come out. Now.

So out come the pens and the Seed Tin of Doom, and I have to go through the seeds once again. Toms and celeriac are already sown; been in for about a fortnight, though with little sign of life yet. But there are loads, shedloads, of seeds to go.

What I’ve got for the main patch is this:

And this way I don’t need to rush to finish what’s in there, because the courgettes, squashes, turnips and beetroot won’t be going in for a while.

Using up the Russian kale would be a good idea though, as I may need that space for spud overflow, and soon:

They are romping away. I usually put them in on Good Friday, following tradition, but Easter is so late this year and they are almost ready. And so is the well-rotted (now very well-rotted) cow muck from H’s farm.

But the list of jobs is getting longer. Time to prioritise. First, reshaping the bed in the bottom garden, which will give me a little extra space by the beanpole tunnel where I can pop in the broad beans. Then – it cannot be delayed any longer – mucking out the greenhouse so I can plant in comfort. That, alas, means reconciling myself to the fact that most of my scented geraniums are dead, and that I need to find somewhere else to put the soil, logs, old pots, besom, half a ton of bamboo canes, piles of crocks and general garbage that just accumulates.

It’s not me.

It’s the fairies; they’re very active in these parts.

(Pity they just do piling stuff into the greenhouse, not sorting it out again.)

4 thoughts on “What goes where…

  1. Janet/Plantaliscious

    You definitely need to incentivise the fairies to clear up after themselves 😉 I had to give up and do it myself, which was not fun… I looked at my celeriac seed today and nearly sowed it but the packet says 15C and I don’t have room inside. At least you have thuggish broad beans – mine are being recalcitrant, but the ones that are through are being planted this week, which will force me to finalise my own plans. I like it when it is still all on paper and subject to change without notice. When I finally start making it real it becomes, well, real… Exciting. I really like the look of your plot, I’ll be hoping to learn lots as I watch it all come together.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I think you’re likely to be learning how not to do things… and I’m not being too optimistic about my broad beans, either. They look good now but just wait until they get chocolate spot.

      (I think the prospect of unpacking, repairing and painting the garden furniture may be affecting my normally sunny disposition. The fairies won’t do that either.)

      Reply
  2. Janet Ireland

    Sounds like my greenhouse. I never like to clear out too soon in case my cuttings and plants grown from seed last year are not actually as dead as they look… it was a very cold winter.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Wasn’t it though? I eventually got down to it and discovered that only one geranium had survived (sigh). I’d better buy some more – must find the Vernon’s catalogue…

      Reply

Leave a reply

