The first camellia

Should have been a wordless Wednesday post, but hey. Popped out for logs this morning, looked up and let out a yell which surprised the couple walking down the lane. Spring is definitely here. Well, around the corner, anyway.

I get blasé later on,

sigh

but for the moment I am fascinated…

sigh2

and, of course, for some bizarre reason it is not raining.

Plus, we even have a slight frost. And the geraniums in the greenhouse have got mould (not surprising, perhaps, with all the mild dampness) so it’s just as well that I moved most of them into the house. There’s always an upside if you look for it. And if you manage to photograph your camellia before it goes all brown and revolting. Even though the light levels under the camellias are really low…

18 thoughts on “The first camellia

  1. paulinemulligan

    Fabulous! Must go and have a look at mine, I know they have loads of fat juicy buds but don’t think any have opened yet!

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I’d not even realised mine were that close… mind you, anything is possible in a garden where an osteospermum is blooming in January (looks a bit shocked today, mind)…

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    How beautiful – and how could you not have noticed it was on the point of opening? I’m sure you have some excuse which you will try and persuade us is valid, but also pleased that I am not the only one who lets out strange squals and yelps when something new and exciting first appears in the garden :)

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Hah!

      Well, the answer to how I couldn’t have noticed is that I haven’t actually been able to see the bottom of the garden for about six days. Anything could have been happening down there, from the Tardis landing to the whole lot sliding half a mile downhill and into the sea. Plus, I haven’t been able to find the thigh waders I need to walk on what I persist in thinking of as ‘lawn’… Please let it be dry for a few days, please….

      Reply
  3. VP

    I love Camellias, but sadly they don’t like limestone clay soils. And having seen them growing wild and free in Devon and Cornwall, I can’t bear to confine them to a lifetime of stumpiness in a pot. I’ll just enjoy them vicariously through blogs such as yours :)

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      Definitely preferable to a pot – I always think they’re a bit cruel – but then my ginkgo is a rescued bonsai, so I would….

      Reply
  4. Anna

    Not the time for silence, whispering or even the most genteel verbal utterance – you should be shouting from the rooftops Kate to celebrate such beauty.

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      For the m omen, Christina, for the moment… next thing you know, it’ll look like a used paper hankie. That’s the trouble with camellias, alas…

      Reply
  5. Dobby

    How wonderful. I think that ice skates may be in order soon rather than thigh waders! The car had more frost on it when I left work tonight than it did this morning. But no rain. Hooray:-)

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I heard the ‘s’ word mentioned on the weather forecast today… Probably more for Welshpool than us, but let’s see. I have crampons from a couple of years ago, so I’m ready. Not sure the garden is, but I am.

      Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I know, it does sound as if the world’s about to end. Bet we get a frost and maybe, oh, about 5mm snow if anything…

      (The last time I said that we had a couple of feet, mind.)

      Reply
  6. Janet/Plantaliscious

    Definitely worth shocking the neighbours with a loud shout of delight for – and probably just as well that you snatched the photos, it appears it might snow. Well, at least snow isn’t rain. Until it melts… Think I will go and hide in a plant catalogue or two…

    Reply
    1. kate Post author

      I just had three catalogues in today’s post, plus my seed spuds and shallots. Forget those (it’s too early, anyway), but I think I’ll join you with the plant lists!

      Brrr….

      Reply

Leave a reply

